Support the Ohio Womyn’s Festival!

Following my recent rant on MichFest and its continued transphobia, I was directed by a reader to check out the Ohio Lesbian/Womyn’s Festival. I had never heard of the festival but was intrigued. Just like MichFest there is music and performers and workshops and camping and…well, womyn. But…and this is a big but…this womyn’s festival, dear readers, is inclusive, meaning if you identify as a woman, then you’re welcome to attend.

I was thrilled to learn about this festival’s existence (particularly after seeing the above flier cause this belly dancer knows a tribal costume when she sees one!) and vowed to throw my full support behind it. My partner and I started making plans to take a trip to OH and I was even considering camping for the first time since Girl Scouts (seriously y’all, I’m a big ‘ole priss…my definition of camping includes a cabin with electricity). We started recruiting friends to form a Chicago delegation to attend the festival and then…here’s where you can insert some sad trombone sounds…my job destroyed all my plans. I didn’t think it would be terribly difficult to get that Saturday off but I was sorely mistaken. Apparently a month in advance wasn’t early enough to inquire and the schedule was already booked up, making it impossible for me to take off. I threw a minor tantrum involving lots of cursing and bile-spewing at my stupid Saturday shift which regularly gets in the way of me having any type of social life.

So no Ohio Womyn’s Festival for me, but you should go! Really! Please go! For me! And if you do go, let me know what you think! I think it sounds amazing and I want it to do well, I want it to grow. Because this is the kind of womyn’s festival we need, one that’s not stuck in second-wave politics and embraces all womyn.

Information on tickets, location, directions, hours, etc., etc. can be found here.

4 responses to “Support the Ohio Womyn’s Festival!

  1. Thanks for throwing your support behind us – and hopefully we will see you and your tribal costume next year!

    • You are so very welcome! Thank you for putting together such an amazing, inclusive womyn’s festival! I definitely hope to bring a Chicago delegation your way next year, grad school willing (*fingers crossed!*)

Leave a Reply

