Out With The Old

No, this is not my New Year’s resolutions post (primarily because I don’t make resolutions, I set intentions). Regardless, this isn’t the time for that. I will warn before you wade to deeply into this post that I’m about to get a little woo woo on you. You know, Earth Mother-crunchy-granola-Goddess-energy woo woo. Deep Lez (more on that later). That kind of woo woo. You’ve been warned.

I am not what one would call a spiritual person. In fact, I consider myself a staunch atheist and a fairly cynical realist. However lately I have been feeling a bit of a pull, a need for something…more. Not a higher power. Not hope for life everlasting in heaven. Those remain discarded beliefs from my youth. But I’ve been feeling a need to connect with something more, some everyday magic, to be more grounded and yet less rational at the same time.

So when a friend posted this link on making a releasing bundle for the Winter Solstice, it really resonated with me. A symbolic, woman-centered ritual celebration involving nature and the cosmos that signifies releasing old patterns seemed perfect for where I am in my life. This past year has been a difficult one and one in which I had to make some pretty big decisions involving letting go. Even though those decisions have been made and a new path has been set, there is still much in the way of emotions and behavior patterns I would like to release. So I will be participating in my own little ceremony. I have no circle but my partner and I will be holding our own releasing ceremony with some things I’ve scrounged together (some hemp bags that a pair of Earth shoes came in, bay leaves in place of tobacco and dried chamomile to stand in for lavender). If you’re willing and able, I invite you to join me in this symbolic letting go of things that no longer serve you.*

Mother of All Releasings Ceremony: Winter Solstice, 2012 from Pixie Campbell on Vimeo.

I am still making notes on what exactly I want to release but here are some general ones…

Anger…Fear…Perfectionism…Toxic relationships…Anxiety…Broken dreams…Hopelessness…

What do you want to release?

*The solstice officially arrives at 12:30 am EST on Thursday. My partner and I are planning on having our ceremony at 11:30 pm CST to usher the solstice in but I know many women have been and will be having their ceremonies all week.

Leave a Reply

