More truths

I’ve been putting off this post for a good long while now, unable to focus my thoughts enough to form a coherent paragraph. There has been an upheaval. What do I address first? How much do I tell? Should I just wait until things settle down? To answer that last one, it ain’t gonna happen. Life is not gonna slow down enough for me to even catch my breath so I’ve got to learn to breathe through it.

My life as of late has been, in a word, dramatic. I’m single now. Or single-ish. Because I’ve had to own yet another truth: I’m not cut out for monogamy. This is something that has occurred to me before but problems arose so non-monogamy was taken off the table. I told myself I was fine with that, and I was for good long while, until some rumblings buried deep below started to rear their intrusive heads.

Life is once again demonstrating to me that you’ve got no power over who your heart wants. I found myself with feelings for someone who wasn’t my partner while still very much in love with my partner. As you might guess, this caused an immense amount of internal turmoil and guilt. I agonized over the situation. How could I possibly have fallen for someone else when I had such a wonderful, supportive partner? What was wrong with me? Cue so much self-flagellation and burying of feelings that I am so very good at. But in the end, I couldn’t quash those feelings. And my partner couldn’t accept that, so she moved out.

To be clear, I’m not blaming my partner. I’m not blaming anyone, not anymore. I shouldered all of the blame myself for quite a while until I was so broken down from the weight of it that I could barely function. So I let it go. It’s not my partner’s fault that she is hardwired for monogamy and I’m not. And it’s not my fault that I fell for someone else.

I’ve gotten quite a bit of feedback from various peanut galleries in my life, all people who mean well. I know they do. But they don’t know my heart. And if I’ve learned one thing over the last year, it’s that I can trust my heart and I should follow it. My bodywork therapist told me that 2012 is the year of transformations. I believe it. For me these transformations are going to come from following my heart.

Transformation is important, vital even, but never very easy. My routine, certain little world is no more. The future is cloudy. But as I was reminded by someone special, it never really was so certain before; it only seemed that way. The difference now is that a little more truth has been freed from my core and I’m stronger for it.

4 responses to “More truths

  1. Aw, honey.❤ I know it's rough, but some people just aren't cut out to be with only one person. Some people aren't cut out to be with ANY people. Don't let anyone tell you what's right for you, because only you can be the judge of that and fuck 'em if they can't comprehend it. I'm sad because you two were a cute couple but I know it'll be better for your heart in the end.
    (btw this is nat)

  2. i have thought quiet a bit about the situation you are in and, no matter how you look, we are able to love two people at the same time. We love people for different reasons and sometimes it happens that you fall in love with somebody else while you are in love with your current partner. Does that mean that you do not love them? No, not really!

    I am torn on this issue. I strongly believe in trust and not cheating. I strongly believe in respect for each other but, on the other had, what do you do when you meat somebody who makes your heart skip a beat? You still love your partner and you still want to have a relationship and you do not want to end it but you also want to explore these new feelings. Um…complicated..I understand. And I think that there are so many of out there – straight and gay who are facing the same dilemma.

    • You’re right. I think that we’re so hardwired, as a culture, to just blindly accept monogamy so just the thought of anything outside that relationship model seems terrifying.

Leave a Reply

