Recharging

Wow, it’s been a minute since I last posted, huh? Life has been lobbing a few more boulders at me than I could handle as of late and I’ve been struggling just to keep my head above water. But things are looking up. I’m currently lounging in a super swanky hotel room in Nashville, TN recharging my battery. It’s just a mini-vacation and I’m only tagging along while my girlfriend* is here for a work thing. But this escape has been so necessary.

Things got very serious and heavy and scary for a bit; I nearly lost someone I care about and was, for the first time in my life, put in the position of saving someone’s life. It was a terrifying and humbling experience and I don’t wish it on anyone. The after-effects still linger. My heart still races at the sound of sirens. But the tears and anxiety are subsiding. My friend survived but nothing will be the same again.

So I’m here, hundreds of miles from home, giving my body the rest it’s been craving for weeks, reflecting on what I just went through and building my reserves back up once again. I’m not doing touristy stuff and I don’t really even feel like exploring. I just need quiet right now and distance. This is my post-trauma self-care. Quiet escape to try to find my calm center once again.

*Yep, you read that right. Girlfriend. I has one. And she has been phenomenal in helping me through the aforementioned traumatic experience. I’m a lucky lady.

2 responses to “Recharging

  1. i’m so grateful for the amazing role you played in all that happened; you deserve the break!❤

Leave a Reply

